Being a machine

I think one of the difficult aspects of being human is having a single subjective experience at a time, and not being able to easily imagine that things would look different at another time, under a different mental state, even when you know it is the case with a ridiculously high degree of confidence.

My classic example is sleep. Whenever I have one night with very little sleep, I am usually totally ok the next day, but in the evening of the following day I get depressed and demotivated and everything seems to lose meaning. Before that happens, I don't see any reason to prepare for that in advance because I don't really believe it's going to happen, even though it has happened every single time in the past. When it does happen, everything seems pointless and I find it hard to believe that after getting a good night's sleep life will be awesome again.

A friend recently suggested an interesting view where she embraces this subjective variance. I never considered this view before. I like the idea, although I am not entirely sure what its application would be like. How does flowing with it work when you're simply depressed?

Another friend told me a while ago that context switches between intense work and intense socializing take a long time to recover from, and I felt that myself recently.

Intuitively I feel these problems are related, and I guess there must be a cool life hack to make dealing with both of them easily. As of now, I am still looking for that elusive hack, though.
One thought on “Being a machine

  1. Yoni Donner

    <div dir="ltr">I think one of the highest values of post rationality is to acknowledge this truth and to learn to optimize for the best outcome given this truth rather than pretend it doesn't exist or that we can &quot;out-rationalize&quot; it. A very related topic is how to induce specific states. If you are very hot right now, can you learn to induce the &quot;very cold right now&quot; state?<br> <br></div>

    Reply

Leave a Reply

